Building my Home Lab

I’m putting together a home lab which I will use to learn/test/play with new technologies. A virtual environment allows you to create test environments which help with studying for MCP, VCP or other IT exams.

Here is what I have so far:

Networking:
Cisco SG300-10 Managed Switch

Router:
Alix 2-3 running pfSense. I got this router from Yawarra Tiny Computers a few years ago and its as solid as a rock.

Server:
I have yet to put this together. I was previously using a Dell PowerEdge T110. I found that server to be too big and too noisy. It also maxed out at 16GB of RAM. Here are the parts I got for the new server:

RAM: Kingston Hyper X Fury HX316C10FBK2/16 (x2 for 32GB RAM).

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Q87M-MK – This board has two NICs and supports Intel vPro.

CPU: Intel Core i5 4690S – This CPU supports all virtualisation requirements, plus it has vPro, which allows remote KVM.

PSU: Corsair VS350

Case: Silverstone SG02B-F Black Micro ATX

I will be installing VMware ESXi 5.5 on this machine. ESXi 5.5 does not include the driver for the network interfaces used on this board, so I used the instructions here to create a custom install ISO, which I hope can be mounted remotely using the vPro feature.

My next post will have the results of this setup!

3 thoughts on “Building my Home Lab

  1. donrobbery87

    I’ll am very interested to see how this goes for you, I’m looking at a similar build with the same MB, an Intel i5 4590 CPU and Kingston RAM.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Building My Home Lab Part 2 – Networking | David Candy's Blog

  3. Enzo

    Hi, man good works.
    I need to work at a new whitebox, you have worked fine with this mainboard?
    can you explain how configure the iso, to work the two nic?

    tnx, bye Enzo

    Reply

Leave a comment